Area Counties, Municipalities to Benefit From Federal Community Development Grants

Somerset and Fayette Counties, fifteen townships and the city of Uniontown in the 32nd Senatorial District have been awarded Community Development Block Grants through the state Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED), according to Senator Pat Stefano (R-32).

Stefano said the program provides grants and technical assistance for federal designated municipality for a wide variety of community development needs, including housing rehabilitation, public services, community facilities, infrastructure improvement, development and planning.

Seventy percent of each grant must be used for activities that benefit low- and moderate-income persons.

“These grants are very important in helping to improve communities, particularly those which are financially distressed, providing jobs, housing and a better quality of life for area residents,” Stefano said.  “I’m pleased that our district and its residents will benefit from this vital funding.”

Uniontown City $274,500

Somerset County $237,979

  • Conemaugh Township $107,616
  • Jenner Township $ 82,627
  • Somerset Borough $ 99,685
  • Somerset Township $145,950
  • Windber Township $ 82,754
  • Total Amount of: $756,611

Fayette County $246,517

  • Bullskin Township $105,138
  • Dunbar Township $106,405
  • Georges Township $102,336
  • German Township $ 90,345
  • Luzerne Township $ 97,215
  • Menallen Township $ 83,284
  • North Union Township $150,747
  • Redstone Township $ 94,057
  • Total Amount of: $1,076,044
Back to Top